PDA

View Full Version : Do I have an anxiety disorder?

thechad
02-12-2007, 09:21 AM
thank you -edit

juliana
02-12-2007, 10:07 AM
Hi Chad. I'm not a doctor, but that sounds like anxiety to me. I had similar fears when I was a little girl. If I bumped my head on something (just a little bump), I was afraid to fall asleep because I thought I would slip into a coma and die. I can also remember lying in bed listening to my heart beating because I was afraid it would suddenly stop.

My anxiety didn't become a big problem -- a disabling problem -- until I was 30, but when I look back I see the roots of it. Getting some therapy early on before things spiral and get worse is the best course of action. It's good that you're still at a point where it's not interfering with every aspect of your life. Talk to a doctor about it, find a book on Cognitive Behaviour Therapy and read it cover to cover and work on the strategies in it. I'm sure someone here could recommend a good book. If you're able to find a CBT therapist, that could be very helpful to you. It's awesome that you're seeking help now. A lot of people wait until the anxiety has taken over their lives before trying to get help. It's hard to admit you have an anxiety problem. You're ahead of the game, so your chances for getting hold of those fears, challenging them, and getting that anxiety under control are very, very good. All the best to you!