PDA

View Full Version : Wondering what to do!

Msquared
06-04-2012, 01:21 AM
Hi everyone - new here (posted a short intro in the appropriate subforum).

I'm 26 and have suffered from anxiety since infancy, literally. I was a sad, fussy baby, a shy child, and grew up depressed and anxious. As a teen, I moved a lot and suffered from feeling left out of existing cliques. I often dreamt of killing myself or at least dying in my sleep. All the while, I focused all my time and energy onto getting perfect grades and excelling at sports (I graduated second in my class behind the principal's son).

Then, during my college years, I let go of much of my perfectionism and came into my own. I became more comfortable and confident in myself and truly began lightening up and making more friends. At times, however, I still suffered from severe anxiety attacks, as I have my entire life. I decided to try Paxil after an extremely rough patch in my life, but only stayed on it a few months, as it made me feel cloudy, apathetic, and not disconnected from reality.

Now, I am happily married and working a full-time job, where I have mostly favorable relationships with my fellow employees. However, my current work location has been more challenging than at other locations I've worked (for the same company). The managers at this particular location are more condescending and micromanaging, which stirred up much frustration and anxiety, as I am someone who prefers to work with more independence.

I was bringing home my anxiety to my husband and taking it out on him, as well. While I wouldn't say our marriage was jeopardized, it certainly wasn't fair to him that I was giving him the short end of the stick.