PDA

View Full Version : Do you have a fear of getting sick/dying?

Mad Hatter
06-03-2012, 07:14 AM
I'm interested to hear from people who suffer with anxiety about getting sick or dying. Did something trigger the anxiety or was it always there? Do you have symptoms? How do you deal with it? etc.

daisy84279
06-03-2012, 08:06 AM
I have a fear of dying/getting terminally sick. I didn't always have it. I think it started in early adulthood, after I graduated high school. Basically, I went to a Christian school for all my education, but then went to a IU for college. Totally different scenario. I think my fear started wen I began to become insecure about my beliefs. I wasn't as sure anymore what I really believed in. And ever since then, I have been worried about getting sick and dying. I still have this irrational fear that my body will just "power off", like a computer does when you shut it down. That something will happen electrically in my body and cause me to just drop dead. Also, I work in a hospital now (just in the kitchen) but I do go up to the floors regularly. Being in that setting also makes me worry about my health. I deal with it just by convincing myself that my body is fine. I know that if I worry about something bad happening, I will worry myself to death (literally). I have had these thoughts for almost 10 years now, and it's very difficult to change my way of thinking when it's been like that for so long.

Buttercup
06-03-2012, 08:35 AM