PDA

View Full Version : New Treatment & Challenge

Mysticsoul
05-22-2012, 07:22 AM
First of all let me say that I am a trained researcher, it was my occupation, and maybe my anxiety downfall!!

I have now been told this by 3 separate anxiety therapists so I am tying to wrap my mind around this "Treatment" It SCARES ME!!

Story began 30 years ago at age 19 with 4 or 5 panic attacks a day, house bound for years and going to top medical clinics . They had no idea what was wrong with me in 1977. So I started researching alternative treatments.

Over the years I tried everything. From yoga to hands on healing - acupuncture to Shamanic healing. Spent tens of thousands on naturopaths and holistic doctors. Things would seem to work then stopped - placebo effect no doubt. I have read hundreds of books on healing and most of the anxiety books ever published.

I have been in therapy for years with 7 different therapists. This new challenge started with a 94 year old psychiatrist who still treats patients every day. He is a friend of a friends father and I spoke to him on the phone. He told me to forget about anxiety and find a consuming hobby.

I wrote that off pretty fast and then a new anxiety therapist told me to burn all my self-help books and start doing something I love. OK I am sort of hearing the message now....

Then I was told by a wise spiritual teacher that what ever we feed and focus on grows....OK I here that! Then I was sent a long letter from a man who runs an anxiety recovery group ( excerpts below)

Now understand that I have been driven for the past 5 years to research this and whip the anxiety beast - I am no better!! So now I am told to stop everything I have been doing for 30 years and reverse course - SURRENDER!! What...DAMN!!!

So I am in the process of packing up hundreds of books - DVD's relaxation CD's and everything that is about anxiety/self-help/medicine and healing.