PDA

View Full Version : Creative anguish (for artists only)

Jeordie
01-22-2007, 08:38 AM
This is probably going to make sense only to those who define themselves as "artists" somehow.

I do. I always did. I've been an illustrator, writer, designer, videomaker, etc.

As I write I have just survived an intense bout of creative anguish.
My work stays there, in my notebook, drawed and written. It is a short story. While writing it, I was thinking maybe I could do a little illustrated book. While writing it, I was everything but calm. The action was somehow despared, compulsive, like "I had" to do that thing, not really because I want to do it and I'm pleased in doing it. No. It's something extremely anxious, and makes me full of anguish and somehow depressed even. In the end I'm exausted, unhappy, unsatisfied.
I feel nauseaous, dizzy, like I'm going to faint one second or another, I can only lie somewhere, relax, think of something else which isn't my creativity. I have no intention of doing that little book: that would kill me.

I hate what I've written, and drawed. Objectively, it's fine, cute, nice, a good work in a way. People might like it. I know who will love it. But I did not find any pleasure in doing it. I've found so little, that I really don't want to do it anymore. And I'm scared like hell of my creativity.
I don't know what's going on. Drawing, a passion I had since I was born, is something I hate now. And it seems ot me such a waste: I can draw, it's inside me, but I'm too scared of myself to draw anything. If I do senseless drawing that's ok, but I never did that. I want significance; I want to explore my inner being...but hell I feel terrible everytime I do. Why is it so damn hard? I use to access my subconscious to get inspiration, and now I can't do it anymore. My subconscious is in hell!