PDA

View Full Version : A general thought to help...

JAug
05-10-2012, 08:21 AM
Think about the following and how it applies to you.

"Ever notice how when you think or look for the symptoms, they are there?"

Beautiful Disaster
05-10-2012, 09:30 AM
Story of my life. I've been getting better over the past month or so and it seems like I only have issues when I stop to think about how I'm feeling. "Am I anxious?" "Are these symptoms going to come on again?"

Do you have an effective way to stop yourself form thinking about this???

JAug
05-10-2012, 09:55 AM
Yes. I've found the best method is to train your mind to change focus.

I've been mediating for about 6 months now for 20 minutes, twice per day. The focus has been to put all attention to any background noise. So, when I feel anxious or catch myself having looping thoughts and weird feelings, i use my training to redirect my focus to any background noise. This method is beneficial because there's ALWAYS a background noise, even if it is the sound of your own breathe.

(btw, i'm a huge 311 fan if that's what your username means!)

Beautiful Disaster
05-10-2012, 10:02 AM
How did you get started effectively meditating? I've been trying to use some guided audios that I downloaded on my phone. They are pretty calming, but I don't necessarily feel like I'm "meditating." You've trained your brain to only focus on the background noise?? Your thoughts don't wander??? I'm impressed!

And no, it's actually not a 311 reference! It seems to be a popular name for a song, because there's 2 other songs I like with the same title (one by Kelly Clarkson and the other by a not as popular band, Roger Clyne and the Peacemakers).

JAug
05-10-2012, 12:46 PM