PDA

View Full Version : Had enough...

yasmin1993
05-08-2012, 07:21 PM
Hello I'm new to this! I don't know if any of yous will pay attention to my post or what but this is my last resort really, I am an 18 year old student suffering with really bad anxiety from time to time recently been diagnosed with an anxiety disorder but my doctor was really not that helpful!
Basically near enough every day I suffer with severe anxiety attacks, i feel like I'm not here, that I'm dreaming and get tingley hands and feet,
Simply finding it impossible to live like this any longer I've been prescribed propanol but this does not help!! Someone please help as I'm really at breaking point :( thank you

bhamlaxy
05-08-2012, 07:33 PM
You can do this.

First of all, I would highly recommend starting therapy and visiting a psychiatrist (not a general doctor). I believe Propanol is a high blood pressure medication? Might help a tiny bit, but not really... A psychiatrist can get you on an antidepressant (that's what they use to treat anxiety) and you will see results from that in 2-6 weeks. In the short term, you can ask for a benzo. I personally use ativan. Only .5mg (a small dose) completely eliminates panic attacks for me. I feel one coming on (or one hits me hard), I take .5mg, and 10-15 minutes later I'm fine.

Benzo's are somewhat addictive when used long term at increasingly high doses, but are safe when taken in smaller doses and eliminated in the near future (ideally you won't need it after the antidepressant kicks in).