PDA

View Full Version : advice

leighmichael01
01-18-2007, 03:58 AM
I'm 22 years old and have been dealing with anxiety for years now. I'm posting this looking for a little advice and hopefully some answers as well.
Let me start by briefly describing my issues with anxiety. I am constantly worrying about my family members, mainly my mother dying. I'm obsessed with it. If I'm lying in bed trying to fall asleep, I can't stop thinking about it. I have brought myself to tears many times over this. I don't know what to do. I even attach sentimental value to meaningless items as a result of this. I have trouble erasing phone messages that a loved one has left me because I'm worried that if I erase it and something happens to them, I will not be able to hear their voice again. I work as a RRT in a hospital so I deal with death on a normal bases but I have never had to deal with this on a personal bases. I have had these fears for along time, this is not a result of my work position however I know this is not helping it any. I can't imagine how I would react if I actually had to deal with this. I have done some research online about my fears and it is almost consistent with a separation anxiety disorder only I had this issue while living at home and still have them now that I've been out of the house for 2 years.
This is not my only issue. I also have a huge issue with my own safety. I am a very paranoid person. It is so bad that I can not stay home at night by myself for very long. I have never stayed alone in a house! Even during the day I am paranoid that someone may break into my house. I can't take a shower when no one is home even if it is in the middle of the day. When I am by myself, no matter where or when, I always have my cell phone in my hand because I worry that I might need it.