PDA

View Full Version : Alcohol and Anxiety Meds.

rockwell8
01-12-2007, 04:37 PM
I'm a 21 year old male college student. I've had anxiety problems for a few months now. Most of the physical symptoms are generally mild, but I ALWAYS think about the anxiety and it's getting to the point where I'm not feeling like my normal self and I feel uncomfortable in some situations because I get nervous. My father and sister are both on generic Paxil and say it works miracles. I want to get on some meds, but everything I've read says it can't be mixed with alcohol. Being a college student, my social life involves drinking. I'm afraid that if I get on something I won't be as happy with my social life at school, even though my anxiety is better. Does anyone know what the deal with mixing alcohol and anxiety meds is? I want a truthful response, not the answer that I would get from a dr or pharmacist who is forced to say not to drink because they have liability. Any other advice? Thanks!!

tommylr
01-12-2007, 09:01 PM
I used to drink booze with paxil but it made my anxiety higher as i like to be in control, my doctor told me I could drink with it but it would just have like double the effect on me and i would not be able to handle as much booze as i could in the past.

V for Victor
01-12-2007, 09:01 PM
As somebody who struggled with anxiety for several years, and then went on medication, I can assure you that the difference your medication will make in your entire life will be far worth it. Imagine being free of anxiety all the time, not just when you're drunk!

Besides, alchohol is bad for you anyway, and so is anxiety, so going on pills would benefit your health both phsyically and mentally! :D

Definately consider getting off alchohol and onto a medication, if your anxiety is really having an affect on your happiness.

jitters
01-14-2007, 06:10 AM