PDA

View Full Version : Doctors (or any other profesionals) with high anxiety

rouxleaux
04-05-2012, 02:26 PM
This is something that I have been wondering about for a while now. How many doctors out there that deal with anxiety and depression every day of their lives and how do they get through it? Right now I am in my second year of residency and frankly it is breaking me down. I am miserable the whole time I am at work, I am scared of my staff attendings, mainly what they think of me and if I am or will do anything to make them angry. So I consequently live my life in fear from Monday morning until Friday afternoon I am stressing out. I HATE IT on the flip side I am a doctor already and I want to finish my training so that I can move on with my life and provide for my wife and newly born son. But I am feel like I cant take it any more. I just want to know are there doctors or any other professionals that have severe anxiety and have made it through? I dont want this to stop me from following my dreams but there is only so much one can endure. Just to paint the picture I cry on the way to work because I am anticipating what will happen during the day, or if I will be called out and or ridiculed by my attending. Then stuff it down inside throughout the day and usually I cry on the way on home while I pray to God to take some of this anxiety off of my shoulders.