PDA

View Full Version : What are my options?

Zac
04-04-2012, 01:49 PM
Hey,
I am new to the forum and would like to discuss my anxiety problems. None of my friends seem to understand what I'm going through.
I am a college sophomore in Engineering at a major university. Here at my university I'm somewhat of a below average student, but I'm always able to pull through. I have been experiancing anxiety symptoms for as long as I can remember.
1) When I was young I would get sick the day before I would go on a field trip. My parents assumed it was just coincidence. But all throughout my elementary years I always had this problem even though in reality I wanted to go.
2) I would have symptoms before attending a prom/formal/ insert social activity here. One time when I was 16 I was feeling so terrible I was given a small does of xanax by my mother which instantly solved the problem and allowed me to enjoy my self the rest of the night.
3) In college the week of finals even though I would be well prepared for a test I have had the worst fits of anxiety before/during/after testing.
4) I have a lot of sleeping issues where I feel that by brain is just racing. A good or bad though, can turn into a negative fit of anxiety symptoms.

When I'm having a panic attack I feel that I am just swirling downwards. Every positive thought I can think of just turns negative and I automatically assume the worst. There is no way I can find around it.

I have a lot of financial woes and I am paying for my college living myself. I get some assistance here and there from my relatives but it's nothing I can rely on. This has led to multiple panic attacks.

I would like to see a doctor and get medication for this disorder but I am worried about what my parents would think, and if a doctor would actually prescribe a 19 year old medication to solve his problems.